The diagram below presents the process methodology. In the right-hand section, at each stage, is the feed and feedback of each of the relevant fields of knowledge, while the left-hand section shows the active participation of stakeholders. Both experts and stakeholders are accompanied by a local and international professional scientific advisory committees and by a forum of stakeholders.

Figure: The planning process

The Israel Marine Plan Team

Integrating Team Members:

Prof. Shamay Assif, Asst. Prof. Michelle Portman, Prof. Yuval Cohen, Dr. Ellik Adler, Dr. Idan Porat, Dr. Yael Teff-Seker, Varda Spier and the Ethos team – Architecture Planning and Environment – Alon Perlman, Barak Katz, Tom Dror and Elad Shochat.

Research Assistants:

Emri Brickner, Achituv Cohen, Dan Ross, Rinat Rizkov, Ziv Tamir, Lior Gutterman

Professional Consultants:

Geology and geophysics Dr. Ori Dor, Ecology Engineering Ltd.
Bathymetry and morphology Ronnie Sadeh, Yam-Yafo Ltd.
Chemical oceanography Dr. Efrat Medar
Marine biology Dr. Orit Barnea and Anat Tzemel
Dr. Dan Chernov, Leon Charney School of Marine Sciences, University of Haifa
Physical oceanography Prof. Eliezer Kit, Dr. Ori Krushinsky, the Israel Institute for Marine Engineering Research, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Marine archaeology Dr. Assaf Yasur-Landau, the Leon Recanati Institute for Maritime Studies and the Leon Charney School of Marine Sciences, University of Haifa
Fishing and mariculture Prof. Amos Tandler
Energy Dr. Amit Mor and Shimon Serousi, EcoEnergy Ltd.
Marine transportation Prof. Yehuda Hayut, the Samuel Neeman Institute, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology
Marine engineering and Avri Shefler and Advocate Orin Sheffler, Bipol  
marine infrastructure facilities Energy Ltd.
Law and Justice Advocate Nadya Zimmerman, Faculty of Law, University of Haifa
Security  Dr. Erez Sverdlov and Yaron Tzur, Matrix Ltd.
Economics Prof. Ezra Sadan and Ruth Lowenthal, Sadan-Lowenthal Ltd.
Climate change Prof. Alon Angert, Earth Science Institute, Hebrew University of Jerusalem      

Professional Scientific Advisory Committee:

Major General (Res.) Ami Ayalon, Chairman of University of Haifa’s executive committee

Prof. Zvi Ben-Avraham, Director of the Leon Charney School of Marine Sciences, University of Haifa, Director of the Mediterranean Sea Research Center of Israel

Prof. Nir Becker, Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences and the Humanities at Tel-Hai College

Prof. Ilana Berman-Frank, environmental biologist, Bar-Ilan University

Prof. Barak Herut, CEO of IOLR

Dr. Gitai Yahel, Marine Sciences School, Ruppin Academic Center

Dr. Oded Katz, Geological Institute

Prof. Boaz Lazar, Earth Science Institute, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Baruch Peretzman, Head of Cartography, Israel Mapping Center

Prof. Maxim Shoshany, Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology

Dr. Nadav Shashar, Eilat Campus of Ben-Gurion Negev University


International Advisory Committee:

Arch. Charles N. Ehler, President, Ocean Visions Consulting, France

Ms. Stephanie Moura, Managing Partner, Sea Plan, USA

Dr. Jens Enemark, Secretary Common Wadden Sea Secretariat, Germany

Prof. Kate Johnson, ICIT Orkney Campus of Heriot-Watt University, Scotland, UK

Dr. Vanessa Stelzenmüller, Centre for Environment Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, Germany

Dr. Jeff Ardron, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Germany

Dr. Priscilla Brooks, Vice-President and Director, Ocean Conservation, USA